ICC Under-19 World Cup: India Won The Title For The Fourth Time

Mount Maunganui. India lifted the under-19 world cup trophy for the fourth time, more than any other nation in the history of ICC Under-19 World Cup. India defeated Australia by 8 wickets, here at the ground of Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui on Saturday.

Manjot Karla’s unbeaten century led India to win the “World Champion Crown” for the fourth time. India always seemed comfortable while chasing the Australian score of 216 runs. However, India started with a solid 50 runs opening partnership, but the most successful batsmen of the squad in the tournament for India Prithvi Shaw (29) and Shubman Gill (31) departed early.

After the early departure of both the highest scorers, Manjot Kalra (101*) and Harvik Desai (47*) held the crease and came back unbeaten. Karla hit 3 sixes and 8 boundaries to complete his century in the final. The young Indian squad paid the tribute to their coach and the former Indian captain Rahul Dravid and gave him the most successful moment of his coaching career.

Earlier, Australia chose to bat first after winning the toss. Australia’s opening pair Jack Edwards (28) and Max Bryant (14) could not stand on the crease for long against the Indian bowling attack. Australia lost their first 3 wickets at the score of 59 runs. After that Jonathon Merlo (76) held one end and put two solid partnerships of 75 and 49 runs with Param Uppal (34) and Nathan Mcsweeney (23), respectively. Anyhow Australia managed to get a decent target of 215 runs.


No Indian Bowler allowed Australian Batsmen to open their arms and the entire Australian team got all out within 47.2 over. For India, Ishan Porel, Shiva Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Ankur Roy picked up 2 wickets each. Shivam Mavi also picked a wicket in the match.

India now surpassed Australia by lifting Under-19 World Cup for the fourth time. Prithvi Shaw added his name with the glory along with Mohammad Kaif (2000), Virat Kohli (2008) and Unmukt Chand (2012) by making India World Champion again, for the fourth time.

Australia: 216 (47.2 overs)

India: 220/2 (38.5 overs)

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version