IND vs AFG Test Match: Afghanistan on the edge of creating History, Match Preview

IND vs AFG Test Match. For the last few years, Afghanistan impressed everyone with their performance at the international level cricket. But the bigest challenge is still waiting in front of Afghanistan’s cricket team. They have to face the No. 1 Test team India in their very first international Test match

This Test for Afghanistan is a great opportunity to prove their selves. The team will try to capitalize on it completely. Without regular captain Virat Kohli, the Indian team, going into this match. India would not want to put their status on the stake and would be cautious with the danger of Afghanistan.

Ajinkya Rahane is captaining India in this match. The hosts know that in recent times, the players from Afghanistan can turn around the match, especially the spinners. Therefore, India will not take it lightly in any way.

The Clash of the Batting and Bowling:

This match is a battle between the Indian batting and the spin bowling of Afghanistan. Afghanistan has selected Rashid Khan, Mujib ur Rahman, Zaheer Khan and Hamza Kotak’s spin quartet in the match. Apart from all four, Mohammad Nabi is the fifth spinner.

Earlier, the Indian team played in the Test series in South Africa, in which it was defeated. Since then the Indian players have not played the red ball cricket. It will be the challenge in front of Rahane of strengthening the team’s middle order in the absence of Kohli in this match. He has to pick those players in the playing 11 who do not feel the absence of Kohli in the middle order and can handle the spin threat from Afghanistan.

The Batting Unit of India:

Karun Nair has a comeback in the team and is hopeful that he will be a part of the playing XI. Nair was struggling with his form after having scored a triple century in England against England and hence got out the team.

This match will give Nair another chance. Dinesh Karthik has been returned to the team in place of wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha, eight years later. Being a senior he also needs to take big responsibility. Cheteshwar Pujara also will strengthen the team as his performance in County Cricket in England was good recently.

The Opening Pair of India:

There is a big problem for Rahane to choose the opening pair. The three opener of the team is Lokesh Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, and Murali Vijay. So far, one of these three did not fit either or was not in the team for some reason recently. But, now when all three are present then who will be chosen, it will be a tough decision. Rahul has performed very well in the recent IPL 2018. Vijay played only one match in the IPL. Dhawan’s bat also scored lot’s of runs in the 11th season of IPL.

Rahane, Rahul or Vijay can be sent at the number three to strengthen the team’s middle order. In the lower order Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin is capable of contributing with the bat.

The Bowling Unit of India:

Umesh Yadav will play in the match for sure. Rahane has to choose another fast bowler from Ishant Sharma, Shardul Thakur, and Navdeep Saini. All-rounder Hardik Pandya can play the role of third fast bowler. If Rahane thinks of three spin bowlers, Kuldeep Yadav can get a chance at Pandya’s place or Pandya can also be used as another bowler.

The Fearless Afghan Unit:

Afghanistan has undoubtedly surprised everyone with its game in limited overs, but not having the experience of the Test can create some problems for them. The guests recently defeated Bangladesh 3-0 in the three-match T20I series. This victory has given confidence to Afghanistan.

The strength of Afghanistan is their spin bowling. Rashid, Mujib have trapped the good in their spin at IPL and international level.

The batting of guests is the biggest concern of the team. There is a lot of dependency on the captain here. Wicketkeeper Mohammad Shahzad can play a good role with him as well.

Indian Squad:

Ajinkya Rahane (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Karun Nair, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Ravichandran Ashwin. Ravindra Jadeja. Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

Afghanistan Squad:

Ashgar Stanikzai (capt), Mohammed Shahzad (wk), Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Ihsanullah Janat, Nasir Jamal, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Mohammed Nabi, Rashid Khan, Zahir Khan, Amir Hamza Hotak, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Yamin Ahmadzai Wafadar, Mujeeb ur Rahman.


- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More