India vs South Africa Squad For Upcoming 6 Match One Day International Series

Johannesburg. 21 year old, young seamer Lungisani Ngidi has been named in India vs South Africa ODI squad for six-match series, starting from February 1 in Durban. The pacer has been rewarded for his recent man of the match performance in his test debut against India in Centurion, where he returned with 7 wickets for 90 runs.

He missed the ODI series against Shri Lanka after playing T20 internationals due to injury last year. He also missed the ODI call-up previously, because of the same.

“Lungi has achieved a remarkable double in being named man of the match on both his T20 and test match debuts and he now gets the chance to show what he can do in the 50 overs format,” Linda Zondi, the selection panel convener states about Ngidi.

He also added, “This is a continuation of vision 2019 as we develop our squad for the 2019 ICC World Cup in England.”

All-rounder Chris Morris and Fast bowler Morne Morkel return after missing ODI series against Bangladesh, last year in October because of their injuries.

“It is good to have both Morne and Chris back in the squad as the 2019 World Cup is little more than a year away now,” Zondi concluded his statement.

Batsman and wicket-keeper Khayelihle Zondo has also been selected in the squad. He recently led the South Africa A team against England Lions in their campaign of fifty overs. When South Africa toured India in 2015, he was in the lineup, but unfortunately could not make a single game.

Apart from Imran Tahir, the chinaman leg-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi has also been included in the squad surprisingly.

All the situations have been favourable for Proteas against the guest, for so long. South Africa have already won the test series by 2-0, while the third test match is still in the play.

South Africa ODI Squad:

Faf du Plessis (C), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khayelihle Zondo.

India ODI squad:

Virat Kohli (C)Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas IyerManish PandeyKedar Jadhav, Dinesh KarthikMS DhoniHardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar KumarJasprit Bumrah, Mohammed ShamiShardul Thakur.


- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More