IPL 2018: What the11th Season of IPL Left Behind?

IPL 2018. The Indian Premier League is without a doubt the world’s favorite cricket league. The IPL has never disappointed fans as it has always been a powerhouse of cricketing entertainment. The 2018 edition of the IPL was no different and here the excitement and enthusiasm were larger than ever.

IPL 2018 was special as two teams made a comeback after facing a ban for two years. Both Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings made handsome comebacks this year. The Chennai Super Kings have always been one of the most popular teams along the journey of the IPL. CSK announced its comeback with their third title win after defeating SRH in the finals.

While everyone felt that the Chennai Super Kings was a squad of old horses, CSK defied all presumptions. The old horses played like bosses and once again proved that experience stands above all. MS Dhoni and his men were as clinical as ever and you got to say that they well deserved to win.

At the beginning of the IPL, the defending champions Mumbai Indians along with a revamped RCB were being seen as the top contenders. But both of these teams struggled miserably and could not even make it to the playoffs.

On the other hand, CSK and SRH maintained their charm from the very beginning and remained table toppers throughout. This IPL could not have asked for a better final than the one among these two teams. CSK and SRH remained favorites throughout the tournament and played some exceptional cricket.

IPL 2018: Interesting facts and records

A long list of IPL records was rescripted in this year’s IPL. These records made in this edition make this IPL even more special and grand. Here are the records which were broken in this edition of the IPL.

1. Most Sixes in a Single Season

This was for the first time that over 800 sixes were hit in a single season of the IPL. A total of 872 sixes were hit in this IPL which is the most in a single season. DD’s Rishabh Pant hit the most sixes (37) in this year’s IPL.

2. Records Which Redefined MS Dhoni

This IPL saw a reinvented MS Dhoni. We saw a vintage MS Dhoni in this IPL and we loved every bit of it! He got many records to his name in this IPL. MS Dhoni now has most runs in the IPL as a captain. Besides this, he became the first captain in IPL to lead in 150 matches and also to score 5000 runs as a captain. He also became the first cricketer to play 8 IPL finals.

3. Star Performers

As the IPL 2018 concluded, there were plenty of awards to be won. Kane Williamson won the orange cap as he ended with 735 runs in the league. As for the purple cap, it went to Andrew Tye for having scalped 24 wickets in this season. DD’s Rishabh Pant won the award for the emerging player while Sunil Narine bagged the title of the most valuable player.

4. Young Talents Proved Their Worth

Most of the teams chose to go for young talent over experience. Hence, almost every team had youngsters which had a lot at stake. Almost all young guy rose to the occasion and performed well for their teams. Some youngsters like Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Shivam Mavi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman performed exceptionally.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More