IPL 2018 Final: The 7th Time Finalist Chennai Super Kings won the IPL Title for the Third Time

The final match of the IPL 2018 went one-sided today. With the help of Shane Watson’s unbeaten century (117 runs, 57 balls, 11 fours, 8 sixes), Chennai Super Kings defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets.

The match remained that one-sided that CSK managed to score 179 runs in just 18.3 overs, losing only two wickets. With this win, CSK has achieved the distinction of becoming the King of IPL for the third time.

In response to the 179 runs given by Sunrisers, Chennai lost the wickets of Faf du Plessis (10) and Suresh Raina (32) only. Ambati Rayudu, with an unbeaten 16 runs, with the help of Shane Watson, brought the team to victory.

Earlier, in the match played at the Wankhede stadium, the Sunrisers batted first on the invitation of Chennai, with captain Kane Williamson’s 47 and Yusuf Pathan’s unbeaten 45, helped them score 178 in 20 overs after losing 6 wickets.

Watson the man of the moment:

Watson proved to be the man of the moment in this win of CSK. He attacked all the bowlers of Sunrisers. Star ballers like Rashid Khan, Bhubaneswar Kumar and Siddharth Kaul also looked short to his innings. Watson was declared the Man of the Match for his stormy innings. Chennai had earlier made IPL champion in the year 2010 and 2011.

CSK made a change in the playing eleven by replacing Harbhajan Singh with Karn Sharma in the team. On the other hand, Sunrisers replaced Shalivas Goswami in place of injured Riddhiman Saha and Sandeep Sharma in place of Khalil Ahmed.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version