South Africa vs India 3rd ODI: Visitors Will Look to Remain Unbeaten

Cape Town. After winning the first two test matches of India’s tour to South Africa, Proteas could not stand back on their performance. They lost the last test match and first two ODIs against the guests. Men in blue are now in a very comfortable position in the six-match ODI series. They will now look forward to extending their unbeaten 2-0 lead against the hosts in the 3rd ODI at Newlands, Cape Town on Wednesday.

South Africa is struggling with injuries and wrist spin at the moment. The injuries of their three main players, captain Faf du Plessis, start player AB de Villiers and wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock are now a major problem for them. They are also lacking a good guidance as they have only 3 matches old player Aiden Markram as their captain.

On the other hand, Indian wrist spinners Yajuvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav are one of the major problems of Proteas. The hosts are struggling against them in the absence of their key batsmen. At Centurian, only these two spinners sent 8 Proteas batsmen back to the pavilion.

The batting form of star Indian opener Rohit Sharma is a major issue for India. The opening partnership has not been working for India since the test series. Rohit’s form should be a major concern for captain Kohli as 4 matches are to be played in the series.

Though the record of South Africa at the ground of Newlands in Cape Town is exceptionally good. Proteas winning percentage at this ground is 84.85%, which is highest by a test playing country at home venue. But this time the situations are not favourable for the hosts as they are suffering from many major issues.

India is ahead by 2-0 in the six-match ODI series and proceeding strongly to win their first ever ODI series at the South African soil.

When and where to watch the 3rd ODI:

The live action of 3rd ODI between South Africa and India will begin at 04:30 PM IST ( 1100 Hrs GMT) on the Sony Ten Network. However, the match can be seen online on SONY LIV APP and its website.

India ODI squad:

Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur.

South Africa ODI Squad:

Aiden Markram (C), Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Farhaan Behardien, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khayelihle Zondo.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More