Tottenham striker Harry Kane hits back at Virgil van Dijk’s diving allegations in Sunday’s game against Liverpool

In what proved to be one of the best games of the season, top-four rivals Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur played out an entertaining and controversial 2-2 draw at Anfield on Sunday.

It didn’t take long for the hosts to open the scoring as Mohamed Salah capatalised on an error from Eric Dier to hand Liverpool the initiative in the nascent stages of the game. This gave Spurs the impetus to push forward, and after minutes of attacking football they found a way back through Victor Wanyama.

The visitors had a chance to take the lead after Harry Kane earned a penalty after being brought down by keeper Loris Karius. However, the England international failed to capatilise on the advantage and fluffed his lines. Liverpool immediately hit back at the other end, before yet another Kane penalty, this time that found its way into the back of the net, brought the game back on level terms and the contest ended in a stalemate.

See Also, Virgil van Dijk ignoring the critics following record move to Liverpool

(PAUL ELLIS/AFP/Getty Images)

There was plenty of controversy surrounding both penalties, but Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk, who brought Erik Lamela down for the second penalty, shot out at Kane for going down too easily and accused him of diving to win his side a spot kick in a crucial stage of the contest. According to Sky Sports, the Dutchman said:

“I think it is a dive. You see him (Kane) diving clearly and no-one is talking about that. But I think it is a dive.

“There is a lot of discussion about whether it is offside, yes or no, but I think it was offside as well. I thought it was a dive. You could just see him making that dive. That is my opinion and the referee thought it was no offside and no dive and he gave a pen.”

This accusation certainly did not sit well with Kane, who scored his 100th Premier League in last night’s match against Liverpool. When asked about van Dijk’s opinion on his attempts to earn the penalty, the Englishman gave a rather stern reply.

“He (Karius) has dived, he got in the way and I’m a player, I’m not going to jump out of the way because it’s football,” said Kane. “I definitely felt contact and I went down.”

- Advertisement -spot_img


  1. Harry Kane was a cheat in the first penalty. No justification is needed. The Referee was equally blunt in his judgment. The game was good except for those kids attitudes by Kane and The ref


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More