FIFA World Cup 2018: Costa Rica is Expecting to Repeat their Previous World Cup Performance

The small Central American country, who travelled to the quarter-finals in the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil, Costa Rica will want to repeat its spectacular show in the World Cup in Russia next month.

Costa Rica ranked 25th in the FIFA rankings, was at the top of the group in the last World Cup. The team had earned a total of seven points with two wins and one draw. In the pre-quarterfinal match, Costa Rica defeated Greece and for the first time entered in the quarterfinals of the World Cup. However, in the quarter-finals, Costa Rica had to face defeat against the Netherlands.

Costa Rica has been successful in qualifying four out of seven World Cups from 1990 to 2014. The World Cup in Italy in 1990 was Costa Rica’s first World Cup. In this competition, the team had travelled to the pre-quarterfinals, whereas in the 2002 and 2006 World Cup, they could not move beyond the group level.

Under the guidance of Captain Brian Ruiz and coach Oscar Ramirez, the team would like to move forward from their previous performance this time. The team secured the World Cup ticket by defeating Trinidad and Tobago and the United States in the CONCACAF World Cup qualifier match.

In this world Cup, Costa Rica has been placed in Group-E with Serbia, Brazil and Switzerland. The team’s defense looks very strong and it can also put Brazil’s attack in trouble in this group.

Costa Rica will play their first match in the FIFA World Cup 2018 on June 17. Earlier, Costa Rica will play friendly matches on June 8 and 12 with strong teams like England and Belgium.

Costa Rica Squad for FIFA World Cup 2018:

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Patrick Pemberton (Liga Deportiva Alajuelense), Leonel Moreira (Herediano).

Defenders: Cristian Gamboa (Celtic), Ian Smith (Norrkoping), Ronald Matarrita (New York City), Bryan Oviedo (Sunderland), Oscar Duarte (Espanyol), Giancarlo Gonzalez (Bologna), Francisco Calvo (Minnesota United), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps), Johnny Acosta (Aguilas Dorados).

Midfielders: David Guzman (Portland Timbers), Yeltsin Tejeda (Lausanne-Sport), Celso Borges (Deportivo La Coruna), Randall Azofeifa (Herediano), Rodney Wallace (New York City), Bryan Ruiz (Sporting Lisbon), Daniel Colindres, Christian Bolanos (both Saprissa).

Forwards: Johan Venegas (Saprissa), Joel Campbell (Real Betis), Marco Urena (Los Angeles FC).

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More