FIFA World Cup 2018: History Of Defending Champions Who Went Out From The First Round

After defeated by South Korea 2-0, defending champions Germany has been out of the 21st edition of the FIFA World Cup. The way Germany played in FIFA World Cup 2018 it did not seem that they are a defending champions. Their coach Joachim Low also admitted that the team’s performance was not good, so the team was not entitled to go to the next round.

Although this has not happened for the first time, the defending champion of FIFA World Cup has been out of the group stage. In this list, there are countries like Spain, Italy, France and Brazil.

Other Defending Champions went out from the First Round:

  • Spain, who won the FIFA World Cup 2010 played in South Africa, was eliminated from the group stage of the FIFA World Cup 2014 played in Brazil.


  • Italy won the World Cup title by defeating France in 2006, but this World Cup Winner also could not move beyond the first round in 2010.


  • The same thing happened with France in 2002. France, who won their first FIFA World Cup in 1998, did not repeat success in the World Cup played 2002. This FIFA World Cup was jointly hosted by Japan and South Korea. France had to return home from the first round only.


  • Brazil has won the FIFA World Cup five times. This legendary football team too had to face this situation in the World Cup played in England in 1966. In this FIFA World Cup the team could not pass the first round. Before that Brazil had won the FIFA World Cup 1962.

Germany is the new name on this list. Though initially Germany was considered to be one of the strong contenders of the title. But a 1-0 defeat against Mexico costed this big blow. This defeat shrunk their possibilities of going to the last 16.

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More