FIFA World Cup 2018: Didier Deschamps Announced the France World Cup Squad

One of the strongest contenders of FIFA World Cup 2018 France declared its squad on Thursday. French coach Didier Deschamps announced the team. Dimitri Payet, the star player from the Marseille Football Club, has not been selected this time in the World Cup squad.

The former West Ham United player had to take a break into the first half during the lost match against Atletico Madrid in Europa League final due to muscle strain. This match was going on between Marseille and Atletico Madrid. Deschamps was not sure about his fitness and due to which he did not choose this playmaker in the team.

Payet’s teammate from Marseille Florian Thauvin and the captain of Lyon Nabil Fekir have been selected in the team.

Manchester City’s left back Benjamin Mendy has also been named in the team while he has played fewer matches after recovering from knee injury.

France is in Group C in the FIFA World Cup 2018, France will start their campaign against Australia in Kazan on June 16th. After this France will face Peru and Denmark.

France Squad for FIFA World Cup 2018:

Goalkeepers: Alphonse Areola (Paris St Germain). Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur). Steve Mandanda (Olympique de Marseille).

Defenders: Samuel Umtiti (Barcelona), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid). Lucas Hernandez (Atletico Madrid), Presnel Kimpembe (Paris St Germain). Djibril Sidibe (Monaco), Adil Rami (Olympique de Marseille). Benjamin Pavard (VfB Stuttgart), Benjamin Mendy (Manchester City),

Midfielders: Blaise Matuidi (Juventus). Paul Pogba (Manchester United). Corentin Tolisso (Bayern Munich). N’Golo Kante (Chelsea). Steven N’Zonzi (Sevilla).

Forwards: Olivier Giroud (Chelsea), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Nabil Fekir (Olympique Lyonnais). Florian Thauvin (Olympique de Marseille). Ousmane Dembele (Barcelona), Kylian Mbappe (Paris St Germain), Thomas Lemar (Monaco).

Standby list: Wissam Ben Yedder (Sevilla). Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich). Benoit Costil (Bordeaux), Mathieu Debuchy (St Etienne). Lucas Digne (Barcelona). Alexandre Lacazette (Arsenal), Anthony Martial (Manchester United). Adrien Rabiot (Paris St Germain). Mamadou Sakho (Crystal Palace), Moussa Sissoko (Tottenham), Kurt Zouma (Stoke).

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More