FIFA World Cup 2018: England Team Announced, Young Players are Key This Time

England football team has been announced for the FIFA World Cup 2018 which is going to be hosted by Russia this June. On Wednesday, the English team’s head coach Gareth Southgate announced the names of the last 23 players of the team. Considering the announced team, it is being said that Southgate has played the wager on young players for this World Cup.

In place of the experienced goalkeeper Joe Hart, Jordan Pickford is included in the team. Along with Hart, Southgate has also not included the English club Manchester United’s defender Chris Smalling in the team. Also, Arsenal veteran midfielder Jack Wilshere will not be part of the English team in the FIFA World Cup 2018.

However, Chelsea veteran defender Gary Cahill has been able to make his place in the team. Ashley Young, the 32-year-old Manchester United player has also been included in the team.

Giving a chance to young players such as Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold, Marcus Rashford of Manchester United and Ruben Loftus-Cheek of Crystal Palace in the team, Southgate has made his intentions very clear that young players are going to be the key for England’s success in this World Cup.

FIFA World Cup 2018:

Talking to the BBC, Southgate said that “I think this is a team that we can be eager about. This is a team of young players, but there are some important players in it as well. So I think the team balance is good.”

Southgate further said that “there is no shortage of energy in our team, but the players are also capable of controlling the ball. People can see what kind of game we want to play.”

Talking about not including Joe Hart and Chris Smalling in the squad Southgate told that “Both calls were really tough. They’re both good guys and have contributed a lot throughout qualification, so it wasn’t an enjoyable part of the job and I feel it’s important to acknowledge their contribution in getting us to Russia.”

England (Group G) will clash with Tunisia on June 18 in their first match of the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

FIFA WORLD CUP 2018: England Squad

Goalkeepers – Jack Butland, Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope.

Defenders – Trent Alexander-Arnold, Gary Cahill, Phil Jones, Harry Maguire, Danny Rose, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker, Ashley Young.

Midfielders – Eric Dier, Dele Alli, Jordan Henderson, Fabian Delph, Jesse Lingard, Ruben Loftus-Cheek.

Forwards – Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Raheem Sterling, Danny Welbeck, Jamie Vardy.

Reserves – Tom Heaton, James Tarkowski, Lewis Cook, Jake Livermore and Adam Lallana.

- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More