Lionel Messi Wins Record 5th Golden Shoe for the Season 2017-18

Barcelona striker Lionel Messi won the ‘Golden Shoe’ award for the 2017-18 season. This award was given to Messi for the fifth time. He scored 34 goals in this season of Spanish league ‘La Liga’. Which earned him 68 points.

Messi won this award last year as well but with a total number of 37 goals in the 2016-17 season. Before this, he had won this award in the year 2009-10, 2011-12 and 2012-13. He is now the only player who has won the ‘Golden Shoe’ five times.

With this Lionel Messi also broke the record of Cristiano Ronaldo. Ronaldo has won the award four times before this. He had won the award for the last time with 48 goals in the 2014-15 season. Ronaldo has won this award in 2007-08, 2010-11, 2013-14 and 2014-15.

In the race for the Golden Shoe, Messi was followed by Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah and Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane. 64 points were earned by Salah with his 32 goals, while Harry scored 60 points with 30 goals.

Real Madrid’s star striker Cristiano Ronaldo failed to win this award this year again. He shortened by 8 goals this time. He even could not make a place in Top-5 this season. Ronaldo could only score 52 points with 26 goals this season.

Final Top Player Standings for the Season 2017-18:

Player Club Goal Points
Lionel Messi Barcelona 34 68
Mohamed Salah Liverpool 32 64
Harry Kane Tottenham 30 60
Mauro Icardi SS Lazio 29 58
Ciro Immobile Bayern Munich 29 58
Robert Lewandowski A.C. Milan 29 58
Edinson Cavani Paris Saint-Germain 28 56
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid 26 52


- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More