North America Will Host the United 2026 FIFA World Cup

The United States, Canada, and Mexico will jointly host the FIFA World Cup in 2026. FIFA Congress on Wednesday decided in favor of North America through voting against Morocco.

For the first time in 88-year history of FIFA, this is a very big moment. This is happening for the very first time in history that three countries have been entrusted with hosting the Football World Cup. The 3 largest North American countries the United States, Mexico, and Canada have been jointly permitted to host the FIFA World Cup 2026 in the 68th FIFA Congress Conference held in Moscow on Wednesday.

Significantly, more than 200 national football associations voted in the Congress. North America (America, Canada, and Mexico) got 134 votes while Morocco got 65 votes. The Football World Cup will return to the continent after 1994. In this year the United States had hosted the biggest event of football. Brazil was the champion of FIFA World Cup 1994.

In this regard, President of the United States Soccer Federation, Carlos Cordeiro said, ‘It is unique and it is a big moment for the football world in North America.’

The FIFA World Cup 2018 has been started in Russia on Thursday, June 14. The next FIFA World Cup will be played in Asia. FIFA World Cup 2022 is to be held in Qatar.

FIFA World Cup 2026 will be different:

  • This time in the Russia 32 teams are taking part in the Football World Cup while in 2026 World Cup there will be 48 teams.
  • A total of 80 matches will be played in this World Cup 2026.
  • 60 matches will be hosted by the USA, while 10 matches will be played in Canada and Mexico each.
  • The final will be played at the Matt Life Stadium of New Jersey.
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More